News around you

Tripura polls: BJP finalizes list of 48 candidates

New Delhi: The BJP on Saturday released the list of 48 candidates for the forthcoming Assembly polls in Tripura.
According to a communique issued by the BJP, among the 48 candidates include names of Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma & Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Pratima Bhoumik.
Saha will contest from Town Bordowali, Dev Varma from Charilam and Bhoumik from Dhanpur Assembly seats respectively.
The BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) has approved the names of the 48 candidates in its meeting held on Friday at the party headquarters here, in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, as per the statement issued by the party.
Election to 60 Assembly seats in Tripura will be held in a single phase on February 16.
The counting of votes will take place on March 2.
The BJP is eyeing for a second term in the Northeastern state. (UNI)

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.