News around you

India squad for ICC T20 WC announced, Ashwin returns

MS Dhoni roped in as mentor !

New Delhi, Sep 8 (UNI) India on Wednesday announced their 15-member squad for the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which begins from October 17 in the UAE and Oman.
Virat Kohli led squad featured R Ashwin, the off-spinner, who returned to the white-ball side after a lay-off.
Ishan Kishan, Axar Patel and Varun Chakaravarthy were rewarded for their consistent performance in the IPL.
Meanwhile, former Indian captain MS Dhoni will serve as mentor for the team during the course of the tournament.
Virat Kohli’s side will open their campaign in a Super12 encounter against Pakistan in Dubai on 24 October.
Apart from Pakistan, India have been pooled with Afghanistan and New Zealand in Group 2, as well as two sides who progress from Round 1 of the tournament, beginning on 17 October.
The top two teams in each group of the Super12 stage progress to the semi-finals, with the final set to be played in Dubai on 14 November.
Full squad: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

You might also like

Comments are closed.