Mamata Banerjee elected leader of TMC  legislative party unanimously

0 676

Kolkata, May 3 (UNI) TMC’s newly elected legislators on Monday elected Mamata Banerjee as their leader, who is expected to take oath as the chief minister for the third straight term on Wednesday, May 5, according to Partha Chatterjee. Though TMC supremo lost election to her former party colleague Shuvendu Adhikari, her party  got a thumping majority of 212 seats against BJPs 77 in the just concluded state assembly elections.

Meanwhile, Ms Banerjee visited Rajbhawan to call on governor Jagdeep Dhankar to submit her resignation and produce a list of the winning TMC legislators to claim to form the next government.
While, Ms Banerjee is expected to take oath at the Rajbhwan with some senior leaders on May 5, the remaining MLAs will be sworn in by the pro-tem speaker Biman Banrjee on May 6, Mr Chatterje said.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.