Brazil, 4 others elected to join UN Security Council for 2-year term

0 348

United Nations, Jun 11 (Sputnik) Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) were on Friday elected to serve as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for a two-year term starting in January, UN General Assembly President Volkan Bozkir said.
“Having obtained the record two-thirds majority and the largest number of votes, Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the [UAE] are elected members of the United Nations Security Council for a two-year term, beginning on January 1, 2022,” Bozkir said after the vote held earlier in the day by the UN General Assembly.
The Democratic Republic of the Congo was also running but did not obtain the required two-thirds majority of votes among the 193 member states of the UN General Assembly.
The final tally of the vote showed that Ghana received 185 votes, Gabon received 183 votes, the UAE received 179 votes, Albania received with 175 votes and Brazil received with 181 votes to became non-permanent members for the 2022-2023 period.
The UN Security Council is comprised of the total of 15 member states: five permanent and ten non-permanent states rotating among different regional blocs every two years. China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States, as the victors of the Second World War, occupy a permanent seat on the UN Security Council.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.