News around you

Fate of political bigwigs at stake in 13 seats of central UP

aaaaaLUCKNOW: The 13 seats of Uttar Pradesh set to witness polling in fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections on Monday, May 13, are considered to be the spine of the state as they fall in the central region.

In the past, these seats including Shahjahanpur (SC), Lakhimpur Kheri, Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Hardoi (SC), Misrikh (SC), Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah (SC), Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur and Bahraich (SC), had remained more evenly contested than the 26 constituencies that went to polls in the first three phases. But in the previous few Lok Sabha elections, the saffron surge took all of it into its fold despite the presence of formidable SP-BSP-RLD grand alliance in the fray. This time Congress and SP are together again after the 2017 UP Assembly polls.

If the challenge for BJP in this phase is the replication of its 2019 performance, the SP’s top concern is to regain the prestigious Kannauj seat.

In fact, the most prominent fight of the fourth phase in UP would be witnessed in Kannauj, the perfume capital of India. Considered to be the stronghold of the Samajwadis, this time Kannauj is set for a fierce battle between Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh and BJP’s sitting MP and a perfume trader Subrat Pathak. Pathak had defeated Akhilesh’s wife Dimple by a margin of over 12000 votes in 2019.

Meanwhile, Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Sitapur, Unnao, Etawah and Bahraich feature a big chunk of Dalit voters.

The BSP has never been able to open its account in six of the constituencies — Shahjahanpur, Kheri, Hardoi, Farrukhabad, Kannauj and Kanpur. The SP has historically struggled to win the Kanpur and Akbarpur seats.

You might also like

Comments are closed.